For a controlled integration of artificial intelligence and digital technologies for sustainable development in Africa

Africa is currently facing major challenges in terms of massive educational needs and inclusive education, climate change and ecological transition, food security and resilient agriculture, mass unemployment and youth socialization.

To this list should be added demographic imbalances and the development of a genuine culture of peace and human security, data and sustainable development.

There are many issues at stake: political, social, ethical, economic, legal and so on. Investing in AI and developing a critical reflection on it therefore becomes an obligatory path for States, particularly African States, organisations, companies, farms and universities that are trying to anticipate tomorrow's world.

For the time being, the field of new technologies is developing in a monopolistic and hegemonic way, mostly to the benefit of foreign companies. For the latter, Africa represents a testing ground and a financial windfall serving their sole interests more than a continent with incomparable human and natural potential.

Yet African countries are brimming with talent, especially young people, and have the resilience to take the destiny of an entire continent into their own hands, a future rooted in respect for people and their environment.

This forward-looking approach is only possible if public authorities, companies and civil society reappropriate the strategy and tools for developing AI technologies.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

code

01 August 2020
AFRIA
AFRIA, the French-speaking Agency for Artificial Intelligence

Follow us

Most popular articles
recent

License and republication

The articles may be republished under the international public license. Creative Commons and in accordance with our terms of use.

en_USEnglish
Share This

Pour une intégration maitrisée de l’intelligence artificielle et des technologies numériques au service du développement durable en Afrique

L’Afrique fait actuellement face à des défis majeurs, en termes de massification des besoins éducatifs et d’enseignement inclusif, de changement climatique et de transition écologique, de sécurité alimentaire et d’agriculture résiliente, de chômage de masse et de socialisation des jeunes.

A cette liste, il convient d’ajouter les déséquilibres démographiques et d’épanouissement d’une vraie culture de la paix et de la sécurité des hommes, des données et du développement durable

Les enjeux sont multiples : politiques, sociaux, éthiques, économiques, juridiques, etc. Investir dans l’IA et en développer une réflexion critique devient donc un parcours obligé pour les Etats, notamment africains, les organisations, les entreprises, les exploitations agricoles et les universités qui tentent d’anticiper le monde de demain.

Pour le moment, le domaine des nouvelles technologies se développe de manière monopolistique et hégémonique, la plupart du temps au profit des entreprises étrangères. Pour ces dernières, l’Afrique représente un terrain d’expérimentation et une manne financière servant leurs seuls intérêts davantage qu’un continent au potentiel humain et naturel incomparable.

Pourtant les pays africains regorgent de talents, notamment jeunes, et bénéficient d’une aptitude à la résilience qui leur permettraient de prendre en mains le destin de tout un continent, un futur ancré dans le respect des hommes et de leur environnement.

Cette démarche d’avenir n’est possible que si les pouvoirs publics, les entreprises et la société civile se réapproprient la stratégie et les outils de développement des technologies de l’IA.

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

code

01 août 2020
AFRIA
AFRIA, l'Agence Francophone pour l'Intelligence Artificielle

Suivez-nous

Articles les plus
récents

1er forum Francophone de l’Intelligence Artificielle

Le 1er forum francophone sur l’intelligence artificielle est créé pour répondre aux besoins des pays francophones en matière d’IA. Il vise à établir un panorama des solutions dans le domaine de l’IA...

Licence et republication

Les articles peuvent être republiés conformément à la licence publique internationale Creative Commons et conformément à nos conditions d’utilisations.

Share This