Ideathon for the benefit of local authorities in Senegal

Background
In June 2020, under the direction of CHEMI, a new training programme called SIATA was started for prefects and actors of the territorial administration of Senegal, whose objective is to enable them to become familiar with the concepts and notions of artificial intelligence.
This programme is articulated in the form of distance learning workshops, led by CHEMI experts and partners, including AFRIA, a foundation that supports French-speaking countries, particularly African countries in the sustainable and humanistic development of AI.

Proposal
In line with the SIATA programme's logic of encouraging the emergence of ideas and prospects for action for the benefit of local authorities, AFRIA proposes to organise, at the end of the governors' training cycle, a 72-hour Ideathon which will aim at the ideation, election and realisation of concrete projects. The projects in question will have to respond to an issue relating to territorial development, integrate a technological component (digital and digital) and demonstrate their economic viability. The Ideathon is operated in collaboration with the company Seedstars* and is carried out entirely online over a period of 1 month.

Course of events
The governors of each of the provinces of Senegal identify an issue related to their territorial community that they submit to the organizers of the Ideathon.
These issues are grouped by theme and shared online on a dedicated platform. A deadline then opens up for idea bearers to submit their solution. Participants then register and choose one of the proposed solutions they wish to develop. The teams (of 5) are formed around a solution and the Ideathon can start. The teams will have 3 days to develop and submit their project.

The proposals are then studied in order to elect the best ones. Finally, the selected projects will be presented before a jury that will elect those that can be developed and financed.

Under the aegis of the Governors
Each governor determines the specific problems in one of the development sectors of his or her community: agriculture, security, health, education, infrastructure, etc.
The issue is formalized and translated into a thematic mission by the organizers and submitted to the platform's idea bearers.

A competition entirely digitalized and open to all

For this occasion, an online platform will be made available to allow the community to register, choose its challenge, co-create solutions in teams, all under the mentoring of experts accessible on the platform. No prerequisite is necessary to participate, everyone can take part in the Ideathon.

Teams of mentors and moderators to lead the teams
Once the teams have been set up and have grasped the problem, they work on the development of their project in complete autonomy. In other words, they manage their time and their progress during the 72 hours of the Ideathon.
However, they are coached by moderators and mentors, who share their expertise and experience throughout the Ideathon. The latter are responsible for ensuring that the teams progress smoothly towards their goal.

Selection of the best projects
At the end of the Ideathon, the organizers in collaboration with AFRIA, CHEMI and the Governors, will select the projects of the 60 best teams (i.e. 60 projects, 300 participants).
This process also takes place online. Projects will then be presented to a jury of government, partner and investor representatives.
Projects that meet the needs of the governors and are economically viable will be elected and supported in their development.

Expected results
This event will allow thousands of ideas on the challenges and themes proposed. During the 72 hours of Ideathon, teams will develop innovative solutions to the problems encountered by governors within their local authority.
This competition will also make it possible to detect and bring out talents from all over the continent, regardless of their socio-professional background or level of education. Finally, this Ideathon will help to make tangible the potential of digital technologies as tools for the development of local authorities.

Seedstars

Seedstars

International company whose goal is to have a social, economic and environmental impact in emerging countries through entrepreneurship and technology. This organization is active in more than 80 countries, mainly emerging countries. Seedstars recently organised an Ideathon for the African Development Bank, where they gathered 25'000 participants in 54 countries of the continent and counted 3000 challenges - Africavsvirus

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

08 September 2020
AFRIA
AFRIA, the French-speaking Agency for Artificial Intelligence

Follow us

Most popular articles
recent

License and republication

The articles may be republished under the international public license. Creative Commons and in accordance with our terms of use.

en_USEnglish
Share This

Ideathon au profit des collectivités territoriales du Sénégal

Contexte
En juin 2020, sous la direction du CHEMI, a débuté un programme de formation inédit nommé SIATA à destination préfets et acteurs de l’administration territoriale du Sénégal, dont l’objectif est de permettre à ceux-ci de se familiariser avec les concepts et notions de l’intelligence artificielle.
Ce programme s’articule sous forme d’ateliers de travail à distance, animés par les experts et partenaires du CHEMI, parmi lesquels L’AFRIA, fondation qui accompagne les pays francophones, notamment africains dans le développement durable et humaniste de l’IA.

Proposition
Dans la logique du programme SIATA de favoriser l’émergence d’idées et de perspectives d’actions au profit des collectivités territoriales, l’AFRIA propose d’organiser, à l’issue du cycle de formation des gouverneurs, un Ideathon de 72h qui aura pour objectif l’idéation, l’élection et la réalisation de projets concrets. Les projets en question devront répondre à une problématique relative au développement territoriale, intégrer une composante technologique (numérique et digitale) et démontrer leur viabilité économique. L’Ideathon est opéré en collaboration avec la société Seedstars* et se réalise entièrement en ligne sur une période de 1 mois.

Déroulement
Les gouverneurs de chacune des provinces du Sénégal identifient une problématique relative à leur collectivité territoriale qu’ils soumettent aux organisateurs de l’Ideathon.
Ces problématiques sont regroupées par thématiques et partagées en ligne sur une plateforme dédiée. S’ouvre alors un délai afin que les porteurs d’idées soumettent leur solution. Ensuite les participants s’enregistrent et choisissent une des solutions proposées qu’ils souhaitent développer. Les équipes (de 5) se constituent autour d’une solution et l’Ideathon peut démarrer. Les équipes auront 3 jours pour développer et soumettre leur projet.

Les propositions sont ensuite étudiées afin d’élire les meilleures. Finalement les projets sélectionnés seront présentés devant un jury qui élira ceux qui pourront être développés et financés.

Sous l’égide des gouverneurs
Chaque gouverneur détermine la problématique propre à un des secteurs de développement de sa collectivité : agriculture, sécurité, santé, éducation, infrastructure, etc.
La problématique est formalisée et traduite sous forme de mission thématique par les organisateurs et soumis aux porteurs d’idées sur la plateforme.

Un concours entièrement digitalisé et ouvert à tous

Pour cette occasion, une plateforme en ligne sera mise à disposition afin de permettre à la communauté de s’inscrire, choisir son défi, co-créer des solutions en équipes, le tout sous le mentorat d’experts accessibles sur la plateforme. Aucun prérequis n’est nécessaire pour participer, tout le monde peut prendre part à l’Ideathon.

Des équipes de mentors et modérateurs pour diriger les équipes
Une fois constituées et saisies de la problématique, les équipes travaillent sur le développement de leur projet en pleine autonomie. C’est-à-dire qu’elles gèrent leur temps et leur progression durant les 72h de l’Ideathon.
Elles sont cependant coachées par des modérateurs et mentors, qui partagent leurs expertises et leur expérience durant toute la durée de l’Ideathon. Ces derniers sont chargés de veiller à ce que les équipes progressent sans difficultés vers leur objectif.

Sélection des meilleurs projets
À l’issue de l’Ideathon, les organisateurs en collaboration avec l’AFRIA, le CHEMI et les Gouverneurs, sélectionneront les projets des 60 meilleures équipes (soit 60 projets, 300 participants).
Ce processus s’opère également en ligne. Les projets seront ensuite présentés devant un jury composé de représentants du gouvernement, des partenaires et d’investisseurs.
Les projets répondant aux besoins des gouverneurs et économiquement viables seront élus et accompagnés dans leur développement.

Les résultats attendus
Cet événement permettra de faire remonter des milliers d’idée sur les défis et thématiques proposées. Au cours du 72h d’Ideathon, des équipes vont développer des solutions innovantes aux problématiques rencontrées par les gouverneurs au sein de leur collectivité territoriale.
Ce concours permettra par ailleurs de détecter et faire émerger des talents du continent entier, peu importe leur milieu socio-professionnel ou niveau d’études. Pour finir, cet Ideathon permettra pour de rendre tangible le potentiel des technologies numériques comme outils de développement des collectivités territoriales.

Seedstars

Seedstars

Entreprise internationale dont le but d’avoir un impact social, économique et environnemental dans les pays émergeants à travers l’entrepreneuriat et la technologie. Cette organisation est active dans plus de 80 pays, principalement émergents. Seedstars a récemment organisé un Ideathon au profit de la Banque Africaine de Développement à l’occasion duquel ils ont réuni 25’000 participants, dans 54 pays du Continent et comptabilisé 3000 challenges – Africavsvirus

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

code

08 septembre 2020
AFRIA
AFRIA, l'Agence Francophone pour l'Intelligence Artificielle

Suivez-nous

Articles les plus
récents

1er forum Francophone de l’Intelligence Artificielle

Le 1er forum francophone sur l’intelligence artificielle est créé pour répondre aux besoins des pays francophones en matière d’IA. Il vise à établir un panorama des solutions dans le domaine de l’IA...

Licence et republication

Les articles peuvent être republiés conformément à la licence publique internationale Creative Commons et conformément à nos conditions d’utilisations.

Share This