What is the potential of Artificial Intelligence coupled with digital technology to meet these challenges while respecting cultural diversity, ethics and human rights?
Artificial intelligence is still a relatively new and growing field. There is a huge need for training and information for a variety of audiences: political leaders, business leaders, academics, rural populations and the general public.

On the other hand, the challenge faced by countries that have not developed their own strategy and expertise in AI technologies is that they are dependent on solutions incubated in vitro and not in vivo. This means that very often solutions are detached from local reality and only partially meet the needs, especially of the most precarious populations but also those most distant from these tools (farmers, producers, etc.).

AFRIA therefore defines itself as a platform with a dual function: 1- disseminating knowledge on sustainable development through AI and digital technologies. 2- to facilitate the integration and implementation of this technology by connecting actors/sectors with needs and solution providers. AFRIA operates with the central concern of guaranteeing African states their digital sovereignty, serving the common good and promoting an integral ecology. This dual mission is translated in detail as follows:

It is strategic for Africa to strengthen or accelerate the development of its artificial intelligence capabilities.

Raising awareness of AI issues and opportunities

Produce and disseminate knowledge and critical thinking on emerging technology issues and provide strategic intelligence;

Promote and organize consultation within and between African countries and facilitate greater involvement of stakeholders, including civil society, the private sector, universities and research institutes, elected officials, youth, women in AI and digital technology issues.

Stimulate cooperation and capacity building in African countries for the cross-cutting integration of the principles of sustainable development, ethics and human rights in the accelerated development of AI-related technologies.

Deployment and integration of AI for the benefit of people and nature

Identify the needs of the public and private sectors for new technologies, including AI, in the fields of agriculture, urban planning, security, training and health, which are not exhaustive;

Research in the academic, scientific and entrepreneurial communities the solutions that meet the identified needs in order to facilitate and coordinate their integration;

Bringing together actors and stakeholders to ensure the controlled, responsible and economically viable development of sustainable projects in Africa.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

01 August 2020
Eric Adja
Dr. Eric ADJA is the President of the Agence francophone pour l'intelligence artificielle (AFRIA), an international foundation based in Geneva, whose mission is to support French-speaking countries, particularly African countries, in the promotion of digital technologies and artificial intelligence for the creation of businesses and sustainable development.

Follow us

Most popular articles
recent

License and republication

The articles may be republished under the international public license. Creative Commons and in accordance with our terms of use.

en_USEnglish
Share This

Quel est le potentiel de l’Intelligence Artificielle couplée au digital pour relever ces défis dans le respect de la diversité culturelle, de l’éthique et des droits humains ?
L’intelligence artificielle, reste un domaine relativement nouveau, en pleine croissance. Les besoins en formation et informations sont immenses, à destination de divers publics : dirigeants politiques, chefs d’entreprises, universitaires, populations rurales et du grand public.

Par ailleurs, le défi rencontré par les pays qui n’ont pas développé leur propre stratégie et compétences dans les technologies de l’IA, est qu’ils sont tributaires de solutions incubées in vitro et non in vivo. Cela signifie que bien souvent les solutions sont décolérées de la réalité locale et ne répondent que partiellement aux besoins, notamment des populations les plus précarisées mais aussi les plus éloignées de ces outils (agriculteurs, producteurs, etc.)

L’AFRIA se définit donc comme plateforme dont la fonction est double : 1- diffuser du savoir en matière de développement durable par le truchement de l’IA et technologies numériques. 2- faciliter l’intégration et l’implémentation de cette technologie en connectant les acteurs/secteurs manifestant des besoins et les pourvoyeursde solutions. L’AFRIA opère avec la préoccupation centrale de garantir aux états africains leur souveraineté numérique, de servir le bien commun et de promouvoir une écologie intégrale. Cette double mission se traduit en détails comme suit:

Il est stratégique pour l’Afrique de renforcer ou d’accélérer le développement de ses capacités en intelligence artificielle.

La sensibilisation aux enjeux et opportunités de l’IA

Produire et diffuser des connaissances et réflexions critiques relatives aux thématiques des technologies émergentes et en assurer la veille stratégique ;

Favoriser et organiser la concertation au sein et entre les pays africains et faciliter une plus grande implication des parties prenantes, notamment de la société civile, du secteur privé, des universités et instituts de recherche, des élus, des jeunes, des femmes aux enjeux de l’IA et des technologies numériques.

Stimuler la coopération et le renforcement des capacités des pays africains, pour l’intégration transversale des principes du développement durable, de l’éthique et des droits de la personne humaine au développement accéléré des technologies relatives à l’IA.

Le déploiement et l’intégration de l’IA au profit des hommes et de la nature

Identifier les besoins émanant des secteurs publics et privés en matière de nouvelles technologies, notamment AI, dans les domaines – non exhaustifs – de l’agriculture, de l’urbanisme, de la sécurité, de la formation et de la santé ;

Rechercher dans les milieux académiques, scientifiques et entrepreneuriaux les solutions répondant aux besoins identifiés afin d’en faciliter et de coordonner leur intégration ;

Réunir les acteurs et parties prenantes afin de garantir un développement maitrisé, responsable et économiquement viable de projets durables en Afrique.

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

code

01 août 2020
Eric Adja
Dr. Eric ADJA est le président de l'Agence francophone pour l'intelligence artificielle (AFRIA), une fondation internationale basée à Genève, avec pour mission d'accompagner les pays francophones, notamment africains dans la promotion des technologies du numérique et de l'intelligence artificielle au service de la création d'entreprises et du développement durable.

Suivez-nous

Articles les plus
récents

1er forum Francophone de l’Intelligence Artificielle

Le 1er forum francophone sur l’intelligence artificielle est créé pour répondre aux besoins des pays francophones en matière d’IA. Il vise à établir un panorama des solutions dans le domaine de l’IA...

Licence et republication

Les articles peuvent être republiés conformément à la licence publique internationale Creative Commons et conformément à nos conditions d’utilisations.

Share This